Katsugeki Touken Ranbu Review

Hi Potatots, Summer is ending and the anime side is bringing in some awesome anime for Fall season. I had been busy with college as it is my final semester for my diploma studies and I am recently hooked to FGO permanently after my August trip to Taiwan this year, it was a hell of a ride. Anywho, Katsugeki Touken Ranbu has ended and it WAS AWESOME!

Katsugeki Touken Ranbu is the long awaited anime adaption for Touken Ranbu a web browser game from DMM.com and Nitro+. Just like its previous counterpart, Touken Ranbu Hanamaru; it would be hard for a non player of the game to understand the concept of Touken Ranbu. I will not go there anymore as I already explained it at my Hanamaru review last time. The common point of both Hanamaru and Katsugeki would be famous swords throughout Japanese history brought to life by their Saniwa to protect alteration of history by the Time Retrograde Army (TRA). They mustn’t change history themselves as well. As for the incommon point for both of the anime, Hanamaru is a happier and livelier version whereas, Katsugeki is full of angst and salt.

Ufotable did a great job bringing Katsugeki to life, the animation and soundtrack were on point throughout the whole airing of the anime. Just like the company’s previous pride – Fate/Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works (UBW); the budget was well spent for Katsugeki. Everyone looked 10 times better than their in game and Hanamaru counterpart. /slap Even the backdrop in the opening and ending for the series were drawn prettier than the backdrop the game offered. Not only that, the passion that all the voice actor had for their characters stabbed our hearts in many ways even though the game also gave feels but not as effective as the anime. In addition, unexpected things happened in Katsugeki, from Tonbokiri getting SERIOUSLY INJURED and Horikawa ALMOST TURNED THE ENTIRE SERIES INTO MUSICAL TOUKEN RANBU ATSUKASHIYAMA IBUN AND BAKUMATSU TENROUDEN combined, also Horikawa giving all of us a heart attack by following both Imanotsurugi (TouMyu) and Yasusada aka Yasudalah (TouMyu and Hanamaru)’s footsteps.

Overall, Katsugeki is a much watch for everyone if the prefer angst over joy in the Touken Ranbu fandom after playing the games.  I cried at the end for this anime, I am a very sensitive saniwa. Katsugeki movie is in production, I am ready to burn more money like how I did in Taiwan.

 

Ratings 

Story: 9/10

Character Development: 9/10

Music: 9/10

Overall: 9/10

◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦◊♦

Free Talk From Minami

For once I am grateful for my sword husband, Heshikiri Hasebe for talking me out of abandoning Touken Ranbu last year. If not, I wouldn’t cry over all the pain Horikawa caused in this series and during my Taiwan trip, I would had brushed off the Touken Ranbu cafe event from animate.  Honestly, I contributed to this fandom by wasting 1,000+ TWD on the event and came back with mostly Kane-sans. FML I would support more animate cafe events for Touken Ranbu in the near future~ ❤

∨ see what I meant?

IMG20170815140943[1]

My loots from the cafe blind Pick. TOO MANY KANE-SAN! > A <

Leave a Reply

