Riverdale Review

Riverdale had officially ended and it was one hell of a ride from a murder mystery introduction to a show full of secrets, although Riverdale is based on the ever-popular Archie Comics.  The show itself is dark AF. As a long time Archie fan myself, I instantly click with the series as it brings back memories watching the Archie cartoons on TV. To be honest, I am a bit shocked about the casting for all the characters, since almost everyone in Archie is 100% white and only Pops is a character of color alongside one of Josie’s friend.

It had been a long time since I last read an Archie Comics comic book, the Riverdale storyline is an independent storyline from the canon storyline, since 80% of the plot is uncanny. I got WTF every time new information spewed out of nowhere as what I remembered from the comics never happened. Overall, Riverdale is special in its own way; I absolutely adored the series until the end since the murder mystery game is just like playing Scooby Doo. Honestly, if there was an institute to train people to be sleuths I will not hesitate to sign up.

The characters from Riverdale had gone through puberty like some sort of radiation mutation process, since in the comics they were very different, especially Archie. He had the most change in the series. Since my childhood, my favorite character had always been Jughead Jones. He is just cute in his own way, however I just do not like Reggie from back then to now; he is just an ass to everyone. Between Betty and Veronica, Betty is my best girl. Veronica is just a bitch in both the cartoon and the comics. However, I had no recollection of Cheryl Blossom and her brother Jason; for I never bothered to continue the comics since it is quite expensive to buy at my place due to the exchange rate of USD and MYR.

Moving on, for non-Archie Comics fans I suggest you to read some wiki information about the background of the characters in Riverdale that would give you a 50% legitimate info about this series as a whole. The tone of the series is somewhat melancholy to fit the angsty tone, how the TV series was portrayed contributes to how we prescribe the series. I enjoyed all 13 episodes of the series and kept wanting more each week, now more secrets are revealed; I can’t wait for season 2. The murder of Jason Blossom in the series was really a roller coaster ride for his comic book information was not canny with the TV show.  As this is a spoiler free review, I will not leak out any information of the series except mentioning the murder of Jason.

Riverdale is one of my top recommendations for TV series alongside The Flash, Arrow, Super girl, Supernatural etc. I may sound bias, as I mentioned Archie was part of my childhood; Riverdale is just nostalgia. Do watch Riverdale if you haven’t watch it yet. You will not regret choosing it.

Leave a Reply

