Hakuouki Movie Part 1 & 2 Review

I know it’s kinda late for me to do this review but, I just had to. You guys probably knew that Hakuouki is my no.1 Otome game anime adaption and last year they had two movies released. I was slow in the news because my love for the fandom died down a bit and I was busy last year with school and military camp…. Now, without further ado, let’s get on to the review.

Part 1 of the movie was basically retelling the story of how Chizuru nearly got herself killed by 2 rasetsu and spent the night tied up in the Shinsengumi HQ. The producers also altered the story plot for that. Staff of Studio Deen, you can’t fool me…. I watched the series more than 5 times already… Please be more creative. Next, the animation was great. It had improved after the last one, Reimeiroku. I was surprised that the staffs chose to reveal Chizuru was an oni when she and Kazama met. That was original but, I honestly don’t like that… = 3 =  It pains me to watch Okita got tuberculosis and was destined to die again…  To sum up part 1, I am satisfied with the animation and music.

On to part 2, I lie if I say I don’t like the movie. I loved it. I cried while watching it. We finally knew why Harada did not chose to become a rasetsu.  .·´¯`(>▂<)´¯`·. You did the right thing my hubby. It was also similar to Hekketsuroku but with more emotional damage for us watchers. I did tried shipping Kazama and Chizuru in the movie; but one scene disappointed me to the max. ヾ(  ̄O ̄)ツ Warning, spoilers. Before Chizuru parted with Kazama, he stopped her with a hug. He told her he doesn’t want her to go, sadly Chizuru had to since she made a promise with Hijikata. Before letting her go, he hugged her. ノ ̄□ ̄)ノ ~┻━┻ I was expecting a kiss, it would have a bigger impact that way. Moving on, I am really heartbroken that Harada died…. 。・゚ヾ(✦థ ェ థ)ノ。゚・。 But, I love the ending…. Chizuru and Hijikata are going to live happily ever after.

Story: 8.9/10 ( Part one doesn’t faze me..)

Character Development: 9/10

Character Design: 9.5/10

BGM  & Songs: 9/10

Overall: 9.5/10

Huehue…. Please make SSL into an anime adaption… I know it’s getting a TV drama & Stage play. wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

Leave a Reply

